Auto Service World
News   February 24, 2017   by Adam Malik

MACS hands out awards on West Coast

MACS Young Ambassador Award winners Jesse Azqueta, Melanie Gann and Tim Iezzi

Nearly 1,000 people took part in training, social events and commerce at the MACS 2017 training event in Anaheim, Calif. recently.

At the event, the society honored both veteran and up-and-coming outstanding members. Four Mobile A/C Industry Pioneers were honored for lifetime industry achievements: Jim Hittman of Badger Refrigeration in Eau Claire, Wis., Marc McDermott of MEI Corporation in Atlanta, Ga., John Miller of The Air Shop in Santa Ana, Calif. and Dan Spurgeon of CAT in Mossville, Ill.

Honored with the MACS Young Ambassador Award were Jesse Azqueta of TSI Supercool in Lake Worth, Fla., Melanie Gann of Four Seasons in Lewisville, Texas and Tim Iezzi of Iezzi’s Auto Service in Reading, Pa. “These three outstanding MACS members go above and beyond to promote MACS in the mobile A/C industry,” the group said in an announcement.

Also at the show was the unveiling of the winners of the new product showcase. A panel of judges looked at products from thee categories: Most Innovative New Product, Most Service Friendly and Best Use of Technology.

The Fox from Globus Sistemas Electronicas won Best Use of Technology. It “is an air conditioning and transport refrigeration electronic controller panel, presenting OLED graphic display, innovative design silicone membrane keyboard, with smart lighting function,” the society said in a news release. “It is equipped with One Wire and CAN communication, allowing remote I/OS and Bluetooth connectivity.”

The Most Service Friendly winner was the Custom A/C Repair Hose Tube Assembly from Parker-Hannifin. The 285 hose was designed to handle rigorous air conditioning requirements from automotive, mobile, bus and transit uses.

“This air conditioning hose has long service life, resists moisture ingression and minimizes refrigerant permeation due to a nylon barrier,” MACS said. “Furthermore, Parker offers male and female end tube connections with or without a pilot as well as their 26 series for hose connections giving technicians the ability to make custom hose tube assemblies.”

The Gates Steel Tube Turbocharger Hose Solution Kit took home the win for Most Innovative. The kit is designed for is for 2003-2007 6.0 L Ford Super Duty Pickups (F250, F350, F450 & F550) and 2003-2005 Ford Excursions.

“It provides direct replacement, ensuring exact fit and ease in installation,” the group said. “Each kit comes with oil-resistant lined hoses, clamps and a corrosion-resistant steel tube for the intercooler to engine application.”

“MACS had not been to California in many years for an annual training event and we were very pleased with attendance which included many new faces from the West Coast,” said Elvis L. Hoffpauir, the president and chief operating officer of the Mobile Air Conditioning Society.

The 2018 show will take place Feb. 14-17 at the Caribe Royale Hotel and Convention Center in Orlando.


Board of directors elects officers

Meanwhile, the board of directors got down to business to elect officers.

Andy Fiffick of Rad Air Complete Car Care in Cleveland, Ohio will serve as MACS chairman and CEO.  Steve Sunday of Sunair in Ft. Worth, Texas will serve as MACS vice chairman. David Jack from DENSO Aftermarket Sales in Long Beach, Calif. was elected as MACS association treasurer. Tanya Johnson of Johnny’s Radiator, Warrren, Ark. will be MACS secretary.

The board has 13 members who represent service and repair, distribution manufacturing, plus the past chairman.

Representing service and shops are Fiffick, Johnson, Caroline Marks Acebedo of Marks Air in Tampa, Fla. and Jim Atkinson of Car Repair Company in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Distributor members will be represented by Sunday, Randy Rankin of Ranshu in Reno, Nev., Mark Schmitz of Global Parts Distributors in Macon, Ga. and Agnes Perez Morales of Auto Air Parts in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Representing manufacturers are Jack, Charlie Roberts of T/CCI Manufacturing in Decatur, Ill., Gary Hansen of RED DOT, Seattle, Wash. and Al Leupold, of Bergstrom, Rockville, Ill.

Jim Hittman of Badger Refrigeration in Eau Claire, Wis. is serving as past chairman.

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *