Auto Service World
News   November 28, 2019   by Allan Janssen

Group pushes for standardized tech names

A group of stakeholders in the U.S. auto industry are urging automakers to adopt standardized names for Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) technology.

The group, which includes the American Automobile Association, Consumer Reports magazine, the consulting firm J.D. Power, and the National Safety Council – offered up a list of suggested names for common driver assistance systems.

The goal, they say, is to reduce confusion among consumers, and ensure that the public is aware that the systems are designed to assist, not replace, drivers.

Consumers currently face as many as 20 names for a single ADAS feature as vehicle makers often prioritize marketing over clarity, AAA research found earlier this year.

For example: what the group would like to standardize as “Adaptive Cruise Control” is currently known in the market by 20 different monikers:

  • Adaptive Cruise Control
  • Adaptive Cruise Control w/ low-speed follow
  • Adaptive Cruise Control with Queue Assist
  • Adaptive Cruise with Stop
  • Adaptive Cruise with Stop & Go
  • Advanced Smart Cruise Control (ASCC)
  • All-speed dynamic cruise control
  • Camera-based cruise control
  • Distance Assist
  • Distance Pilot
  • Distronic
  • DistronicActive
  • Distronic Plus
  • Dynamic radar cruise control
  • High-speed dynamic radar cruise control
  • Intelligent Cruise Control (ICC)
  • OEM 1 Adaptive Cruise Control with Stop & Go
  • OEM 2 Radar Cruise Control
  • Smart Cruise Control (stop/start)
  • Traffic-Aware Cruise Control

Lane-keeping assistance  is known by 19 unique names including:

Active Steering Assist, Audi Active Lane Assist, Intelligent Lane Intervention, Lane Departure Alert with Steering Assist, Lane Keep Assist, LaneSense Lane Departure Warning Plus

Blind Spot Warnings also go by 19 different names, including: Active Blind Spot Assist, Audi Side Assist, Blind Spot Information System, Blind Spot Intervention, Lane Change Alert with Side Blind Zone Alert, Lane Change Assistant (Side Assist), and Smart Blind Spot Detection.

Rear Cross Traffic Assistance is known by 14 different names. Automatic High Beams is known by 18 different names. And Semi-Automated Parking Assist is known by at least 12 different names.

The suggested list of standardized names includes five categories and features 20 unique names in total. It will be updated as new systems come to the market. Their list of preferred names are:



Automated Driving Tasks:

Adaptive Cruise Control

Lane Keeping Assistance

Dynamic Driving Assistance


Collision Alerts:

Forward Collision Warning

Lane Departure Warning

Blind Spot Warning

Rear Cross Traffic Warning

Parking Obstruction Warning

Pedestrian Detection


Collision Mitigation:

Forward Automatic Emergency Braking

Reverse Automatic Emergency Braking

Automatic Emergency Steering


Parking Assistance:

Semi-automated Parking Assistance

Fully-automated Parking Assistance

Remote Parking

Trailer Assistance

Surround View Camera


Miscellaneous Driving Aids:

Automatic High Beams

Night Vision

Driver Monitoring



Print this page


2 Comments » for Group pushes for standardized tech names
  1. Brian Browning says:

    The other thing that needs to be standardized is the Programming and Updating. Each manufacturer has their own convoluted method, programs and cost. More time is spent jumping through the hoops to update a module than actually diagnosing that it is the issue.

  2. Jamie weisler says:

    And the auto makers wonder why it is getting so hard to find workers in this trade!! They better get it figured out soon or it won’t matter what the call their systems!

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *