Auto Service World
News   January 3, 2006   by Auto Service World

SKF Names Dieter Zetsche Recipient of 2005 X-Tracker Award

SKF recently named Dieter Zetsche, member of the DaimlerChrysler AG Board of Management, the recipient of its 2005 SKF X-Tracker Award.
The award was created by SKF in 2003 to recognize an individual within the automotive community who overcomes adversity to achieve extraordinary results in their professional endeavors. George Dettloff, president, SKF Automotive Division North America, presented the award at a ceremony at Chrysler Group headquarters in Auburn Hills, Mich.
“Dr. Dieter Zetsche is receiving this award for a number of reasons,” said Dettloff. “Prime among them is his vision and leadership in turning the Chrysler Group into a profitable organization with an outstanding portfolio of vehicles that has captured the eye of the world’s driving public. This, combined with his long history of successful management, made him an ideal recipient of the SKF X-Tracker Award.”
Zetsche came to the Chrysler Group in 2000, after the company merged with Daimler-Benz AG, the largest industrial merger in history. As the first German to head one of Detroit’s domestic car companies, he led the company through major cost-cutting initiatives, which included streamlining the organization. Ultimately, these bold actions led to profitability, innovative vehicle designs, and a stronger organization that has helped position the Chrysler Group for its current success. With a reputation as a leader who can create positive change, Zetsche is also credited with galvanizing employees and creating a culture of teamwork.