Auto Service World
News   July 4, 2016   by Steve Pawlett

Seven Students Receive Scholarships Through Memorial Donations To Industry Scholarship Fund 





Thanks to generous memorial and donor awards to the and University of the Aftermarket scholarship funds, seven students received scholarships to pursue education and future careers in the automotive aftermarket.

“Applicants at the Automotive Scholarship Central website were outstanding again this year and showed enthusiasm and passion for the aftermarket career path they have chosen,” said Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS Scholarship Committee. “Thanks to the generous support of these individuals and groups, we are able to assist many more applicants as they pursue their education.”

ASE and the Michael Busch Memorial Fund awarded three $1,000 scholarships:

* Paul Anderson of Oklahoma City, Okla. to attend Francis Tuttle Technology Center in automotive collision

* Brady Blowers of Isanti, Minn., to attend Iowa Central Community College in the auto body collision repair & auto restoration program

* Patrick Rowe of Dillon, S.C., to attend NASCAR Technical Institute in auto technology

Mort Schwartz, David Caracci and the Marilyn Schwartz Memorial Fund, part of the University of the Aftermarket Foundation, awarded three $1,000 University of the Aftermarket scholarships:

* Austin Cable of Lima, Ohio, to attend the University of Northwestern Ohio in diesel technology

* David Crothers of Canton, Ga., to attend the University of Northwestern Ohio in diesel and agriculture equipment

* Joshua Westendorp of Byron Center, Mich., to attend the University of Northwestern Ohio in automotive, diesel and alternative fuels

The Udell Family Foundation awarded a $1,000 scholarship to a veteran of the U.S. armed forces: Laura Bulvas of Crest Hill, Ill., to attend Southern Illinois University in automotive technology.

Automotive Scholarship Central collaborates with these state associations and other automotive groups to award scholarships:

* Association of Diesel Specialists (ADS)

* Automotive Aftermarket Association of the Carolinas and Tennessee (AAACT)

* Automotive Aftermarket Association Southeast (AAAS)

* Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota Inc.

* Automotive Service Council Education Fund (California) (ASCEF)

* California/Nevada/Arizona Automotive Wholesalers’ Association (CAWA)

* Car Care Council Women’s Board (WB)

* Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium Inc. (GAAS)

* Kentucky/Indiana Automotive Wholesalers Association Michigan Automotive Parts Association (MAPA)

* Midwest Automotive Parts and Service Association (MAPSA)

* North American Council of Automotive Teachers (NACAT) Education Foundation

* New York State Automotive Aftermarket Association (NYSAAA)

* Wisconsin Automotive Part Association (WAPA)

* Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)

* Auto Care Association Telematics Challenge

* Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association/Overseas Automotive Council

* Bosch

* Breslow Foundation

* Dayco

* Art Fisher Memorial Fund

* Gates Corporation

* Larry McCurdy Memorial Fund

* Marilyn Schwartz Memorial Fund

* Michael Busch Memorial Fund

* Mitchell 1

* Multi Parts

* National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE)

* George Segal Memorial

* Standard Motor Products

* Stant Corporation

* University of the Aftermarket Foundation Scholarship Fund (UAF)

* Women’s Board of the Auto Care Association

Additional scholarship funding comes from industry contributions provided by individuals, companies and foundations. Contributions can be made to the UAF Scholarship Fund, University of the Aftermarket Foundation, c/o Julie Brehm, Auto Care Association, 7101 Wisconsin Ave., Suite 1300, Bethesda, MD 20814, 240-333-1046. Please designate any contribution to be restricted for scholarships. UAF is a 501c (3) organization.

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *