Auto Service World
News   March 9, 2015   by Auto Service World

Bestbuy Celebrates Expansion Grand Re-Opening

#aftermarket – Bestbuy Distributors welcomed former Mayor of Mississauga Ms. Hazel McCallion, and the Honourable Mayor Bonnie Crombie of Mississauga for the Saturday morning expansion grand re-opening ribbon cutting ceremony at its distribution centre at 3355 American Drive.

Bestbuy also had the pleasure of Mayor Hazel McCallion’s company in 1992 (over 22 years ago) at Bestbuy’s previous ribbon cutting ceremony. Bestbuy’s warehouse trade event started immediately after the ceremony with 90 vendor companies on-site ready to discuss their new business developments with Bestbuy members.

Bestbuy Distributors’ 61st Annual Shareholder Meeting was held in Toronto, at the Westin Bristol Place hotel on February 20th, 2015. The two-day event brought together Bestbuy members from across Canada and vendors from across North America to attend meetings and celebrate Bestbuy’s expansion and grand re-opening of their Mississauga warehouse.

A highlight of the AGM was the annual dinner, which honoured retiring Board Chairman Dale Devlin of Halton Automotive. Devlin has served on Bestbuy’s Board of Directors since 1993, and was Chairman for 5 years.

President, Jeff Van de Sande and Chairman Douglas Squires had the honour of announcing and presenting the 2014 Horace J. Pratt Award (Supplier of the Year) to ProMax Auto Parts Depot, in recognition of their excellence in service, sales performance and support. Ramzi Yako, Sam Yako and Doug Curliss were on hand to accept the award.

The organization also presented its annual contribution to support The Family Heart Centre at the Hospital For Sick Children in the  combined amount of $40,600.00.  Dr. Robert Hamilton, Director of Cardiology was on-hand to accept the donation. Bestbuy has been supporting this worthy cause since 1986 and has contributed in excess of $750,000.00.

There was a strong turnout of 225 for the Friday evening cocktails and dinner. The crowd was mesmerized with internationally renowned celebrity impressionist Martin Dubé. With his five octave voice range, he brought the crowd to their feet with his stellar impersonation performances.

The Friday afternoon portion of the Shareholder AGM was opened to attending Bestbuy vendor partners. Guest speakers in the afternoon included Andrew Shepherd of AIA Canada presenting “Canadian Automotive Aftermarket Outlook”, Benjamin Tal of CIBC discussing “Canadian Economic Outlook” and Donald Cooper familiarizing the audience with “Succession Planning.”

Shareholders from across Canada proclaimed their 2015 Board of Directors. Bestbuy’s new chairman is Douglas Squires of Colonial Auto Parts and APM Limited; new vice chairman Brad Nahorney, Sapphire Auto (IDL); secretary/treasurer Don Harvey, Central Transport Refrigeration; Claudio Sceppacerqua, The Young Automotive Professionals; Ghazi Mankal, Canadian Auto Parts Suppliers; Gino Morelli, Pièces d’auto G.C.M.; Scott Manz, Den-Paul Distributors; and new director, Rob Dow, Jack Dow Auto Supplies.

During the evening, Bestbuy had the pleasure of formally welcoming Kumar Thuraisamy of 747 Auto Parts, Ameen Suleman of Ameen’s  Auto Parts, and Bill and Mike Stringer of John?s Auto Parts. The three new Shareholders were each given a Bestbuy Code of Ethics plaque. Bestbuy also presented Service Recognition Awards to: Auto Body Specialties, 30 years; Central Transport Refrigeration, 30 years; Halton Automotive, 30 years; Vancouver Auto Parts, 30 years; Dorval Auto Parts, 20 years and Canadian Auto Parts, 10 years.

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *