Auto Service World
News   January 6, 2003   by Auto Service World

North American Car and Truck of the Year: A Brit and a Swede

An international group of automotive journalists today selected the Mini Cooper and Cooper S as the North American Car of the Year and the Volvo XC 90 as the North American Truck of the Year.
The awards honour vehicles that set new standards or will become benchmarks in their classes. Jurors evaluate them based on criteria including innovation, design, handling, safety and value for the dollar.
The awards are unique because instead of being given by a single publication, radio or television show they are given by 49, full-time automotive journalists from the United States and Canada representing magazines, newspapers as well as radio and television programs.
Many of those on the jury have covered the auto industry for decades and evaluate 50 to 100 new vehicles a year. The jurors voted in December, sending their ballots directly to Deloitte & Touche, the accounting firm. The ballots were counted by Richard Gabrys, the vice chairman of Deloitte, who kept the winners secret until a news conference yesterday at the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) press preview in Detroit.
While announced at the world-class auto show, the awards are independent and the NAIAS is not otherwise involved.
To be eligible, a vehicle must be “substantially new.” Cars must have sales reasonably expected to exceed 5,000 a year and sales of trucks must exceed 2,000 a year.
Candidates for the 2003 North American Car of the Year were the BMW 7-Series, Honda Accord, Honda Civic Hybrid, Infiniti G35, Mazda6, Mercedes-Benz E-Class, Mini Cooper and Cooper S, Nissan 350Z, Pontiac Vibe, Saab 9-3, Saturn Ion and Toyota Matrix.
Candidates for the North American Truck of the Year were the Ford Expedition, Honda Element, Honda Pilot, Hummer H2, Kia Sorento, Land Rover Range Rover, Lexus GX 470, Lincoln Aviator, Mitsubishi Outlander, Nissan Murano, Subaru Baja, Toyota 4Runner and Volvo XC90.
The winners last year were the Nissan Altima and the Chevrolet Trailblazer. The awards were first given in 1994 and were patterned after the Car of the Year award given in Europe.
The North American awards are funded by the jurors and managed by a seven-member organizing committee, the members of which are also jurors. Those members are Alex Law (free lance), Tony Swan (Car and Driver), Michelle Krebs (free lance), Matt Nauman (San Jose Mercury News), Christopher Jensen (The Plain Dealer), John Davis (MotorWeek) and John McElroy (BlueSky Productions).

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *