Auto Service World
Feature   November 1, 2010   by Auto Service World

Jobber News Jobber of the Year Recognition Dinner

While the Jobber News Jobber of the Year Recognition Dinner was greeted as a welcome break from the Forum’s more intense learning sessions, it wasn’t completely without its own share of educational value.

John Cochrane, former AIA chair and the 2003 Jobber of the Year, led off the evening with a brief talk on developments regarding the OE service information websites. He walked 80 some attendees through the Canadian Service Information Standard (CASIS) Agreement and General Motors’ service information website. He urged jobbers and distributors in attendance to familiarize themselves with CASIS and the sites in order to better help inform their customers.

Following dinner, Jobber News publisher-editor Andrew Ross made the presentation of the Jobber of the Year plaque to 2010 winners K.C. Automotive Parts, a Modern Sales Co-Op member in Owen Sound, Ont. That presentation also included a remembrance of Paul Dossman, long-time general manager of the operation, who passed away early in 2010.

The business is noted for the succession plan put in place years ago by owner Ken Morrison. The business is now well into its employee share ownership program with more than a dozen employees counted as owners. Morrison made note of that move in his speech, after thanking the committee for selecting the business for the award.

“I am certainly happy that we embarked on the succession plan. With Paul’s passing, the transition hasn’t been smooth, but it has been continuing.”

The evening also included a brief remembrance of 1991 Jobber of the Year Les Buzzell, R.K. Buzzell Ltd., of Moncton, N.B., who passed away in May of 2010. He was remembered as a gentleman, and a man who at 88 was still sharp enough to know all the financials of each of the 10 branches of the business.

The Jobber of the Year Award is formally named the E.J. and A.E. Wadham Memorial Award, after the founders of Jobber News, which has been publishing since 1931. The award has been presented annually for more than 25 years.

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *