Auto Service World
News   May 26, 2006   by Auto Service World

Indy 500 Weekend Starts with Trophy Presentation

Last May, Dan Wheldon earned a place in auto racing history and on the base of the world- famous BorgWarner Indianapolis 500 Trophy as the winner of the 2005 Indianapolis 500. On Saturday, Wheldon will receive his own “Baby Borg” to mark the achievement. BorgWarner TorqTransfer Systems President and General Manager Cindy Niekamp will present the BorgWarner Championship Driver’s Trophy to Wheldon at Saturday’s 2006 Indianapolis 500 Drivers Meeting at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. She will also present Andretti Green Racing with the BorgWarner Team Owner’s Trophy.”Winning the Indianapolis 500 is one of the most coveted achievements in racing,” Ms. Niekamp said. “BorgWarner is extremely proud this year to mark the 70th anniversary of the BorgWarner Trophy and our association with this legendary event, which began in 1936. Congratulations to Dan Wheldon and the Andretti Green team owners for their shared 2005 victory. We are delighted to present them with these tangible symbols of their memorable performance.”
The BorgWarner Championship Driver’s Trophy, a replica of the BorgWarner Indianapolis 500 Trophy, is awarded each year to the winner of the Indianapolis 500. The sterling silver trophy, referred to in the automotive racing world as the “Baby Borg,” is 14 inches high and weighs 5 pounds. It rests on a 4-inch by 8-inch beveled black marble base. The base includes space for a hand-crafted, 2-inch, 3-dimensional sterling silver image of the winning driver’s face, and also includes an inscription of the winning driver and year of victory. BorgWarner established the trophy in 1988, so that each winner of the Indianapolis 500 would have a lasting keepsake of the Speedway victory. (The BorgWarner Indianapolis 500 Trophy does not go home with the winner after it is presented in Victory Circle on race day; it stays on permanent display at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum.) The first Championship Driver’s Trophy went to Rick Mears, winner of the 1988 Indianapolis 500.
In 1998, to mark the company’s 70-year history as a pioneering innovator in the automotive industry, BorgWarner established the BorgWarner Team Owner’s Trophy, a companion to the Championship Driver’s Trophy. As its name reflects, the Team Owner’s Trophy goes to the owner of the racing team that wins the Indianapolis 500, and recognizes the significance of the team owner’s role in the Indy Racing League. Like the Championship Driver’s Trophy, the Team Owner’s Trophy is a replica of the Indianapolis 500 trophy, but features a band of art-deco racing cars accentuated in gold to symbolize the importance of teamwork in auto racing and the automotive business. Its first recipient was 1997 Indianapolis 500 winner Arie Luyendyk’s team owner, Fred Treadway of Treadway Racing.
Auburn Hills, Michigan-based BorgWarner Inc. is a product leader in highly engineered components and systems for vehicle powertrain applications worldwide. The company operates manufacturing and technical facilities in 62 locations in 17 countries. Customers include Ford, VW/Audi, DaimlerChrysler, General Motors, Toyota, Renault/Nissan, Hyundai/Kia, Honda, BMW, Caterpillar, Navistar International, and Peugeot.