Auto Service World
News   October 15, 2012   by Auto Service World

Industry’s Finest Honored at 2012 ASRW Industry Awards

Several groups honored industry professionals Friday evening during the ASRW Industry Awards, held on Friday, Oct. 12 at the National World War II Museum in New Orleans. The annual awards event provides a platform in which a variety of mechanical and collision repair groups may acknowledge the achievements of some of their outstanding members, customers and industry partners.

Ron Pyle, Automotive Service Association (ASA) president and chief staff executive, emceed the program, which opened with the Automotive Management Institute (AMI) graduation ceremony recognizing those who have earned the Accredited Automotive Manager (AAM) designation.

Following the opening graduation ceremony:

• Tom B. Babcox Memorial Scholarship: Peter Rudloff; Pete’s Garage Inc.; Newark, Del.

• Zurich “High Octane” Scholarship: Joshua Ingram, AAM; Colchin Automotive; Arvada, Colo.

• AVI Education Scholarship: Charlene Parlett, AAM; Southeast Auto Service; Hinesville, Ga.

• BodyShop Business Magazine Scholarship: Tommy Clayton; Tommy’s Dent Service; Hinesville, Ga.

• NASTF Recognition Award: Automotive Service Excellence; Leesburg, Va.

• Richard Cossette/Gale Westerlund Memorial Scholarship: Jennifer Kinney; Classic Auto Collision; Marquette, Mich.

Motor Age and ABRN presented the following:

• Motor Age Top Shop of the Year: Gene and Robin Morrill; Certified Automotive Specialists; Glendora, Calif.

• ABRN Top Shop of the Year: Collision Care Auto Body Specialists; Philadelphia, Pa.

FenderBender presented six awards during the event:

• FenderBender Executive Award: Pat Beavers; COO, CollisionMax AutoBody & Glass Centers; Trevose, Pa.

• FenderBender Management Award: Dave Baylor; Production Manager, Gustafson Brothers, Inc.; Huntington Beach, Calif.

• FenderBender Administrative Support Award: Cynthia Hervin; Bookkeeper, Suburban Auto Body; Little Canada, Minn.

• FenderBender Shop Worker Award: Mike Hamilton; Lead Painter, ATA Collision CARSTAR; Overland Park, Kan.

• FenderBender Vendor Award: William Burnside; Paint Representative, Tri-State Coatings; Shreveport, La.

• FenderBender Wildcard Award: Peter Lock; Automotive Services/Appliance Repair Department chairman and professor; Contra Costa College; San Pablo, Calif.

Additional industry awards presented at the ceremony included:

• Women’s Industry Network (WIN) NACE Scholarships (2):

Jessica Crowley; SkillsUSA—Automotive Refinishing; Boisie, Idaho.

Kristen Shaver; SkillsUSA—Collision Repair; Birch Run, Mich.

• Russ Verona Memorial/IBIS Scholarship: Ron Nagy, AAM; Nagy’s Collision Specialists; Orrville, Ohio.

• Advanstar Chairman’s Award: Bill Moss, AAM; EuroService Automotive; Warrenton, Va.

• SkillsUSA Collision Repair Technology Secondary Gold Medal Winner: Jason Lucius; Tiffin, Ohio. Instructor Secondary: Carl Rusch; Tiffin, Ohio.

• SkillsUSA Collision Repair Technology Post-Secondary Gold Medal Winner: John Stanton; Greenville, Ill. Instructor Post-Secondary: Danny Mays; Centralia, Ill.

Automotive Service Association awards included:

• ASA Alpha Award: Betty Joe Young, AAM; Youngs Automotive Center; Houston, Texas.

• ASA Phoenix Award: Ron Nagy, AAM; Nagy’s Collision Specialists; Orrville, Ohio.

• ASA Chairman’s Award of Excellence: Bill Moss, AAM; EuroService Automotive; Warrenton, Va.

• ASA Legislative Award: Kathryn van der Pol; Adolf Hoepfl & Son Garage; Houston, Texas.

The ASRW Industry Awards are sponsored by Autobody News, ABRN/Motor Age, Bodyshop Business and FenderBender magazines. Thank you to the ASA New Orleans chapter who also sponsored the event and greeted attendees and award recipients.

NACE and CARS will be held during Automotive Service and Repair Week (ASRW) next year when the events rotate back to Las Vegas, Oct. 17-19. Plan now to attend the events designed exclusively for automotive service and repair professionals.

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *