Auto Service World
News   June 16, 2016   by Steve Pawlett

FMSI Announces New Board of Directors for 2016-2017


The Friction Materials Standards Institute (FMSI) announced its new slate of officers and board of directors at its annual meeting on June 6.

Jerry Forystek of Brake Parts – the outgoing chairman – announced that Frank Oliveto of Util Canada is the new chairman. Assisting Oliveto are First Vice Chairman Rafael DiBuono of Fras-Le and Second Vice Chairman Bill Carney of FDP Virginia. Rick Jamieson of ABS Friction remains treasurer and Patrick Healey continues as president.

Forystek stated that the membership had endorsed the following as the FMSI Board of Directors for 2016-2017:

  • Steve Bird of Util Canada
  • Walt Britland of Federal Mogul Motorparts
  • Bill Carney of FDP Virginia
  • Cristina Casimiro of Friccion y Technologia SA de CV
  • Rafael DiBuono of Fras-Le
  • Jerry Forystek of Brake Parts
  • Rick Jamieson of ABS Friction
  • Tom Moalli of Tek-Motive
  • Bill Murray of NuCap Industries
  • Frank Oliveto of Util Canada
  • Mark Phipps of Bosch Brake Components
  • Kirby Pruitt of Akebono America.


Founded in 1948, the Friction Materials Standards Institute is a trade association of automotive aftermarket friction manufacturers. FMSI collects, characterizes, and disseminates to its members the vehicle manufacturers’ Original Equipment service products and other public domain information. These products are included in FMSI’s standardized and trademarked part numbering system for brakes and clutch facings. To learn more, visit

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *