Auto Service World
News   April 9, 2002   by Auto Service World

FIAT and Michelin Founders and "King Richard" Among Automotive Hall of Fame Inductees

The Automotive Hall of Fame, located in Dearborn, Mich., has announced seven inductees for 2002, including FIAT founding father Giovanni Agnelli.
The inductee class of 2002 includes Giovanni Agnelli, Giorgetto Giugiaro, Frank McCarthy, Andre and Edouard Michelin, Richard Petty and Owen Skelton.
Giovanni Agnelli (1866 – 1945) was one of the founders of FIAT (Fabbrica Italiana Automobili Torino). He served as Secretary of the Board and was appointed Chairman in 1920. Under his leadership, Agnelli transformed FIAT from an exclusive brand to a mass producer of automobiles.
Recognized as a visionary in automotive design, Giorgetto Giugiaro (1938 – ) designed over 80 mass-produced cars and developed numerous concept cars for the world’s top manufacturers. In 1967, Giugiaro founded Ital Design, a professional design services company for the motor vehicle industry.
As President of the U.S. National Automobile Dealers Association from 1968 – 2001, Frank McCarthy (1934 – 2001) provided leadership for the association in such areas as industry relations, dealership operations and management education, public affairs and the NADA Charitable Foundation.
Andre Michelin (1853 – 1931) and Edouard Michelin (1859 – 1940) established the future of the Michelin Company in 1889 by developing the detachable air-filled rubber tire mounted on a metal wheel rim. The Michelins succeeded in convincing automakers of the utility of inflatable tires, and in the process, built one of the greatest automotive empires.
Recognized as the only seven-time Winston Cup winner, Richard Petty (1937 – ) holds the record for 200 career victories in NASCAR racing. As the owner of Petty Enterprises, Petty maintains a sponsorship with STP, making their 30-year relationship the longest running sponsorship in the history of sports.
Hired by Walter P. Chrysler, Owen Skelton (1886 – 1969), along with Carl Breer and Fred Zeder, formed a dynamic team of engineers known as the “Three Musketeers,” whose efforts resulted in the creation of the Chrysler Airflow and other groundbreaking inventions. Skelton is also credited with the development of four-wheel hydraulic brakes, all-steel body construction and an engine mount system known as “floating power.”
Formal induction ceremonies will take place at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Dearborn, Michigan, on October 15, 2002. The Automotive Hall of Fame, located in Dearborn, Michigan, is the only industry-wide means to honor the men and women of the global motor vehicle and related industries. It is dedicated to preserving the history of mobility by celebrating the creativity, toil and genius of the individual. The Automotive Hall of Fame is both a visitor attraction and an educational resource for inspiring others to higher levels of achievement in their own work and lives.

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *