Auto Service World
News   March 20, 2008   by Auto Service World

Automotive Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Eight individuals representing automotive racing, design, manufacturing, the aftermarket and management have been selected for induction into the Automotive Hall of Fame.
The Inductee class of 2008 includes:
Paul V. Galvin (1895 – 1959), co-founder of Motorola; Robert W. Galvin (1922 – ), former chairman, CEO and president of Motorola; Phil Hill (1927 – ), First American to win the Formula 1 World Drivers Championship;
Bob Irvin (1933 – 1980), legendary automotive journalist, The Detroit News, Automotive News;
William E. Metzger (1868 – 1933), automotive pioneer, first car dealer, E-M-F Motor Company.
Mort Schwartz (1934 – ), founder of the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium.
John J. “Jack” Telnack (1937 – ), former head of design, Ford Motor Company; and John North Willys (1873 – 1935), automotive pioneer, Willys-Overland, Willys-Knight.
The Inductees were announced at the International Motor Press Association meeting at the New York International Auto Show.
Formal induction ceremonies will take place at the Ritz-Carlton in Dearborn, Mich., on Tuesday, October 7, 2008.
The Automotive Hall of Fame, located in Dearborn, Mich., an industry-wide means to honor the men and women of the global motor vehicle and related industries.
It is dedicated to preserving the history of mobility by celebrating the creativity, toil and genius of the individual.
The Automotive Hall of Fame is both a visitor attraction and an educational resource for inspiring others to higher levels of achievement in their own work and lives.

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *