Auto Service World
News   November 17, 2010   by CARS Magazine

Ruth A. Ehlinger Voted New President of Car Care Council Womens Board

Bethesda, MD, – The Car Care Council Women’s Board (WB) announces Ruth A. Ehlinger was recently elected as the new president of the organization, effective immediately. In this position, Ehlinger will preside over all meetings, and in general, supervise the affairs of the board for a term of three years.

Ehlinger has been a member of the Women’s Board since 2001. In addition to the presidency, Ehlinger will continue to serve as the chair of the Consumer Education Committee until a new chairperson is chosen.

Ehlinger began her career with AAA nearly 21 years ago, starting in the Automotive Department of AAA Auto Club South and transferring to the Automotive Department of the AAA National Office in 1991. She has held a series of progressively challenging positions that provided valuable hands-on experience in a wide variety of automotive programs and operations. These experiences in an association environment developed strong negotiating and facilitation skills and has allowed her to succeed in her current position of manager, Auto Repair Network Programs and Services.

Today, Ehlinger is responsible for the development, launch, and long term growth of programs with some of the most prestigious brands in the industry. These programs deliver real value to more than 52 million AAA members, 8,000 Approved Auto Repair facilities and 10,000 Preferred Service Providers and towing contractors.

In addition to the Women’s Board, Ehlinger is actively involved in several strategic AAA initiatives and supports several community causes including Junior Achievement, American Red Cross and the American Cancer Society.

Ehlinger holds an MBA from Webster University in St. Louis, Mo. She and her husband of 23 years, Stephen, have three children and reside in a northern suburb of Orlando, Fla.

All members of the Car Care Council Women’s Board in good standing were eligible to vote for the new president. Previous Women’s Board presidents include Kathleen Schmatz, Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA), Jennifer Tio, Maximum Marketing Services and Katie Noga, SKF.