Auto Service World
News   February 18, 2016   by CARS Magazine

Coalition for Auto Repair Equality (CARE) adds new board members

The Coalition for Auto Repair Equality (CARE), a non-profit national organization that represents companies in the automotive aftermarket, including: NAPA, AutoZone, Advance Auto Parts, O’Reilly Auto Parts and Bridgestone-Firestone Retail Operations, recently elected two aftermarket leaders to its board of directors.

George Sherman, Advance Auto Parts president and interim CEO, and Bill Hanvey, president and CEO of the Auto Care Association, are the newest members of the CARE board.

“The leadership George Sherman and Bill Hanvey provide will help ensure CARE continues to help the automotive aftermarket thrive, especially as it relates to federal and state legislative issues,” said Ray Pohlman, president of CARE.

Sherman replaces Darren Jackson who recently retired from Advance Auto Parts. Hanvey replaces Kathleen Schmatz who recently retired from the Auto Care Association.

“Advance Auto Parts has been a long-time partner with CARE and I am honored to join its Board as Advance’s representative,” said Sherman. “As one of the largest automotive aftermarket parts providers, Advance joins with CARE member companies to ensure vehicle owners continue to have the right to buy their parts and have their vehicles serviced where they choose.”

“The preservation of the independent auto care industry is critical to the consumer,” said Hanvey. “The Auto Care Association has enjoyed a strong relationship with CARE in providing the advocacy necessary to ensure the right to have your vehicle maintained where you choose.”

Sherman and Hanvey join Tom Gallagher, chairman of CARE, and chairman and CEO of Genuine Parts Company (NAPA); Bill Rhodes, chairman, president and CEO of AutoZone; Greg Henslee, president and CEO, of O’Reilly Auto Parts and Stu Crum, president and chairman, Bridgestone-Firestone Retail Operations.

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *