Auto Service World
News   November 17, 2010   by CARS Magazine

AIA proudly announces 2010 Marion Roberts, SEMA and GAAS scholarship winners

November 15th, 2010, Ottawa – AIA Canada is pleased to announce the official winners for the 2010 Marion Roberts Memorial Scholarship, the 2010 Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium Scholarship (GAASS) program as well as the 2010 SEMA scholarship.


The AIA Marion Roberts Memorial Scholarship Awards were developed by the Automotive Industries Association of Canada in 1982 to honor the passing of Marion Roberts, the longest serving staff member of the Association’s head office in Ottawa. The Scholarships provide financial assistance and encouragement to enable students to further their education at the post secondary level. To view the complete list of 2010 recipients, click here.

The GAAS program was launched to support deserving secondary students, college and university students alike who would like to pursue a career in the automotive aftermarket. The program is funded from the net proceeds of the annual Global Automotive Symposium. While all students are encouraged to apply, priority is given to those pursuing a career in the automotive aftermarket.


The 2010 GAAS winners are:


 Kenneth Cooper

 Derrick Johnstone

 Tony Nguyen

 Mathew Stephenson

 Joa Markotic

 Rebecca cooper

 Benoît Leblanc

 Aaron Bowker


As a bonus, a matching grant is awarded to scholarship recipients who become technicians in the automotive aftermarket. This year, the 2010 Matching Grant Recipient for the GAAS scholarship is Rebecca Sangster-Kelly.


The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund was founded in 1984 to foster leadership in the specialty equipment marketplace, and to support educational goals for students pursuing career in the automotive aftermarket. This year’s scholarship winners are Cameron Sullivan and Soochan Lee.

AIA Canada is committed to building a prosperous future for the automotive aftermarket industry, and for Canada, as a whole. AIA offers five distinct scholarships – all founded in order to reach out to a distinct type of students, and to encourage careers in the automotive aftermarket industry. For more information on our scholarships, visit the Scholarships section of our website.

Congratulations to all our 2010 scholarship winners!


Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *