Auto Service World
News   March 9, 2017   by Adam Malik

Awards handed out at Bestbuy’s AGM

Promax Auto Parts Depot won the 2016 Horace J. Pratt Award for supplier of the year. From left, Bestbuy president Jeff Van de Sande, Sam Yako, Ramzi Yako, Doug Curliss and Bestbuy chair Douglas Squires

Bestbuy Distributors held its 63rd annual general meeting in Toronto in late February.

The two-day event included a gala dinner and show in Toronto as well as a the company’s annual warehouse tradeshow at Bestbuy’s distribution center in Mississauga, Ont. At the dinner, guests were entertained by comedian Derek Edwards.

Business was also conducted as the board of directors was re-acclaimed for 2017. Bestbuy’s returning board is chair Douglas Squires of Colonial Auto Parts and APM Limited; vice chair Brad Nahorney of Sapphire Auto (IDL); secretary/treasurer Gary Thibault of The Partsman; Gino Morelli of Pièces d’auto G.C.M.; Rob Dow of Jack Dow Auto; Scott Anderson of Peterborough Automotive; Andre Dimopoulos of  Dorval Auto Parts; and Doug Wilson of Fat Guys Auto Parts.

Bestbuy donated $25,000 to the Family Heart Centre at to The Hospital for Sick Children. The board of directors presented the cheque to Dr. Robert Hamilton. From left, Gino Morelli; Gary Thibault; Jeff Van de Sande; Dr. Robert Hamilton; Scott Anderson; Douglas Squires; Brad Nahorney; Rob Dow; Doug Wilson. Missing is Andre Dimopoulos.

Awards were also handed out. The 2016 Horace J. Pratt Award (supplier of the year) went to ProMax Auto Parts Depot. The award is in recognition in recognition of excellence in service, sales performance and support as voted by Bestbuy members.

Bestbuy introduced three new vendor categories to demonstrate the importance of strong partner relationships between Bestbuy and the supplier community. The Cornerstone Partner Award went to Interstate Batteries; Marketing Partner Award was awarded to G2S Equipment; and the Rising Star Partner Award winner was Spectra Premium Industries.

Adam and Jason Cormier of Big Bargain Auto Parts, in Dartmouth, N.S. were formally welcomed to the Bestbuy group. They were presented with the code of ethics each member receives when joining.

Service recognition also went out to a number of members: APM Limited, 55 years; McLeod & Richmond, 55 years; Temlac Ltee, 40 years; Centre du moteur J.S. Levesque, 35 years; Busch’s Auto, 35 years; Spark Auto Electric, 25 years; Port Moody Auto Parts, 20 years; Cawthra Automotive, 20 years; and Harding Automotive, 10 years.

The company also donated $25,000 to The Hospital for Sick Children’s Family Heart Centre in Toronto. Since it began supporting the cause in 1986, $800,000 has been raised.

Vendors showcased their latest business developments with Bestbuy members at the annual warehouse tradeshow at the company’s distribution center.


Shareholder Service Recognition Awards

20 years

Port Moody

(l-r) Douglas Squires, Farrukh Alam (accepting on behalf of Port Moody), Jeff Van de Sande

25 years

Spark Auto Electric

(l-r) Douglas Squires, Nick Bintas, Jeff Van de Sande

35 years

Busch’s Auto Supplies

(l-r) Douglas Squires, Karen Angus, Kristen Busch, Jeff Van de Sande

40 years

Temlac Ltee.

(l-r) Douglas Squires, Robert Therrien, Paul Therrien, Simon Therrien, Jeff Van de Sande

55 years

McLeod & Richmond

(l-r) Douglas Squires, Ben Devlin, Jeff Van de Sande

APM Limited

(l-r) Brad Nahorney, Philip Murphy, Douglas Squires, Jeff Van de Sande

Vendor Awards

Cornerstone Partner Award: Interstate Batteries

(l-r) Jeff Van de Sande, Bill Macdonald, Rod Wren, Douglas Squires

Marketing Partner Award: G2S Equipment

(l-r) Jeff Van de Sande, Maurice Gavard, Douglas Squires

Rising Star Partner Award: Spectra Premium

(l-r) Jeff Van de Sande, Jeff Lee, Kerry Best Jr., Scott Cleroux, Justin Lesansky, Douglas Squires

Print this page


Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *